When you access any application over internet or intranet, every HTTP request that is received by a server is responded to with an HTTP status code which is a 3 digit code, and are grouped into various different classes such as 1xx (Informational), 2xx (Success), 3xx (Redirection), 4xx (Client Error) and 5xx (Server Error).


The class of a status code can be quickly identified by its first digit. This article focuses only on identifying and troubleshooting the most commonly encountered HTTP error codes, i.e. 4xx and 5xx status codes which are as listed below:

S.No.Status CodeName
1Code = 400Bad request
2Code = 401Authorization required
3Code = 402Payment required
4Code = 403Forbidden
5Code = 404Not found
6Code = 405Method not allowed
7Code = 406Not acceptable
8Code = 407Proxy authentication required
9Code = 408Request Timeout
10Code = 409Conflict
11Code = 410Gone
12Code = 411Length required
13Code = 412Precondition failed
14Code = 413Request entity too large
15Code = 414Request URI too large
16Code = 415Unsupported media type
17Code = 416Request range not satisfiable
18Code = 417Expectation failed
19Code = 422Unprocessable entity
20Code = 423Locked
21Code = 424Failed dependency
22Code = 500Internal server error
23Code = 501Not Implemented
24Code = 502Bad gateway
25Code = 503Service unavailable
26Code = 504Gateway timeout
27Code = 505HTTP version not supported
28Code = 506Variant also negotiates
29Code = 507Insufficient storage
30Code = 510Not extended
If you encounter any error codes that were not mentioned in this article, feel free to discuss them in the comments!
TAGs: Tags
http error http error status http error status codes http request list of common http error status codes